Don’t make come back to your store (Sobey’s) with bad produce again!

I like to believe that I’m not playing ‘the blind card’ today.  A local grocery store (that would be Sobey’s at West End Mall in Halifax, Nova Scotia) really ticked me off yesterday.  I take great pride in small accomplishments. One being, navigating to Sobey’s with my guide dog, Opal,  and  finding  a clerk once we have reached the produce section, then handing over my cloth bag (no environmentally evil plastic here).   As always, my question to the clerk is: “What’s good in produce?”  I usually get the guy who actually tells me something like, “the eggplant is lovely, but forget the avocados…they’re horrible”.  THIS I appreciate. But yesterday, someone else ‘helped’ me. I posed the usual question.  The affable produce clerk told me the MacIntosh apples were 2 three pound bags for $3.97. The green beans? $2.99 a pound.  I thought the apples were a good deal. The green beans? “1/2 lb is plenty at that price”, I tell the guy.  He also looks for the tofu which I had heard is ‘on special’, but it is not available as advertised.  I settle for an alternate.  My cloth bag is returned with those items as well as a few oranges and bananas. Opal and I schlep it to the bakery counter, where a clerk comes to find my loaf of my favourite bread.I am happy. “Opal”, I say at the cash, “Let’s go home and make a fritata”.Only when I am probing the beans, do  discover that the guy gave me old beans with no stems or tails…they have no smell, and feel tough enough to be the sort you would find in a third-rate  can of cut-up beans.  By the time I opened the SECOND bag of badly bruised apples, I am livid.  Did he think I wouldn’t notice? No, that’s not it. It’s not a blind thing. It’s just Sobey’s trying to pass off produce that is just slightly better quality than garbage, to ANYONE. I’m just the woman who has to harness her Guide dog and load it up in my backback, walk back to the store and demand my money back tomorrow.  I’m also the woman who will make every effort to convince the people of Halifax to BOYCOTT Sobey’s!!!!  and did I mention that in recent months, this store (Sobey’s) had a recall of packaged burgers?….they had e-coli bacteria in them.

Leave a Reply

