Don’t Bug My Mum Today

I love my mum. She loves me, feeds me, plays with me and we go to neat places together. Sometimes, I feel that I must step in and take care of her. It’s Sunday today and that means we are going to church. She’s not feeling very well, I think… something about minnows pausing. I don’t get it. I think she’s just tired from being up half the night changing the sheets on her bed. I really need a little sign to wear on my harness. No, not the “don’t pet me, I’m working” sign… I need something that reads, “Don’t Bug My Mum Today”. She needs rest and maybe an ice pack to cool her off, but definitely NOT a stupid bus driver forgetting to tell us when we have arrived at our stop or a guy in an SUV trying to mow us down in a crosswalk. Sheesh! I don’t know what she’ll do if somebody bugs us this afternoon at the ball game. Frankly, I think it’s too hot to sit around in the sun, even if it is the annual Dykes and Divas game. She promised me that we are outta there if it starts to thunder. Suits me fine. Mum told me she’s not into the ‘Pride’ thing anyway. I don’t know what this means either. I’m a smart Guide dog, but that doesn’t mean I understand humans or what they are talking about half the time. I know words like, “left”, “right”, “find the lift” and the ones that REALLY matter in life, like “suppertime” and “I love you Opal”.

Leave a Reply

