Hey Bus Driver…Are You Serious?!!!

Com’ on! Give me a break! When I get on your bus next time, and say ” I want  Spring Garden and Summer street please” in a loud and clear voice, do not think for a minute that you can blow my stop again (like you did today) and YELL AT ME, “You didn’t ask!”, as I get off the bus. Sheesh! Even the guy in the back row heard me tell you where I wanted to get off. Next time, you will ANNOUNCE MY STOP, ’cause if you don’t… I (that is, WE, an entire organization of blind, and partially sighted advocates) will REALLY be inclined to use the incident as the basis for a Human Rights Complaint. I have had it. Metro Transit is spending another million + bucks on security cameras on their buses, because the dirivers’ union told them to?  My bus is held up twice this week for 25 and 45 minutes because the RCMP were asked to board the buses by a nervous driver, to remove some cursing kids from Halifax West Junior High?  Are you serious?  The new microphones pick up sound  on buses (how much did THAT cost?). Give the drivers Tazers and get on with it! You will save a bundle, and I bet the kids will behave a lot better. Not only that, but the buses may be remotely close to being on time!

2 responses to “Hey Bus Driver…Are You Serious?!!!

  1. I don’t get that city you live in. I have lived in many cities on th atlantic coast and have never run in to a Town so unwilling to move foreward. Come on Halifax get with it will ya?!! You go and getum you bull dog ya!!!

  2. Maybe its my karma or something…but I don’t think so. All I know is, the transit system needs a voice enunciator system and the drivers’ union could ‘make’ Metro Transit (aka HRM) commit to funding it. Until they are forced with the threat of legal action, I doubt we will ever see it. Meanwhile, drivers blow by our stops, and we have no accessible schedule, route maps or bus stop signs.

Leave a Reply

